https://www.ejh.it/index.php/ejh/issue/feed European Journal of Histochemistry 2019-01-21T16:46:53+01:00 Nadia Moscato nadia.moscato@pagepress.org Open Journal Systems <h3><strong></strong>The Proceedings of the <a href="https://www.ejh.it/index.php/ejh/issue/view/175"><strong>Italian Society for the Study of Connective Tissues (SISC) Meeting, Pavia, 26-27 October 2018</strong></a> are now available.</h3> https://www.ejh.it/index.php/ejh/article/view/2991 Seasonal expressions of prolactin, prolactin receptor and STAT5 in the scented glands of the male muskrats (Ondatra zibethicus) 2019-01-21T16:46:53+01:00 Wenqian Xie xwq11@bjfu.edu.cn Hong Liu liuhong@bjfu.edu.cn Qian Liu qianliu@bjfu.edu.cn Qiong Gao qgao79@163.com Fuli Gao fuligao@bjfu.edu.cn Yingying Han thinkinghyy@126.com Zhengrong Yuan zryuan@bjfu.edu.cn Haolin Zhang haolinzhang@bjfu.edu.cn Qiang Weng qiangweng@bjfu.edu.cn <p>Prolactin (PRL) production in mammals has been demonstrated in extrapituitary gland, which can activate autocrine/paracrine signaling pathways to regulate physiological activity. In the current study, we characterized the gene expression profiles of PRL, prolactin receptor (PRLR) and signal transducers and activators of transcription 5 (STAT5) in the scented glandular tissues of the muskrats, to further elucidate the relationship between PRL and the scented glandular functions of the muskrats. The weight and volume of the scented glands in the breeding season were significantly higher than those of the non-breeding season. Immunohistochemical data showed that PRL, PRLR and STAT5/phospho-STAT5 (pSTAT5) were found in the glandular and epithelial cells of the scented glands in both seasons. Furthermore, we found that PRL, PRLR and STAT5 had higher immunoreactivities in the scented glands during the breeding season when compared to those of the non-breeding season. In parallel, the gene expressions of PRL, PRLR and STAT5 were significantly higher in the scented glands during the breeding season than those of the non-breeding season. The concentrations of PRL in scented glandular tissues and sera were measured by enzyme-linked immunosorbent assay (ELISA), and their levels were both notably higher in the breeding season than those of the non-breeding season. These findings suggested that the scented glands of the muskrats were capable of extrapituitary synthesis of PRL, which might attribute PRL a specific function to an endocrine or autocrine/paracrine mediator.</p> 2019-01-17T10:59:27+01:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement## https://www.ejh.it/index.php/ejh/article/view/2993 Epithelial expression of the hormone leptin by bovine skin 2019-01-21T16:46:52+01:00 Francesca Mercati francesca.mercati@unipg.it Cecilia Dall'Aglio cecilia.dallaglio@unipg.it Ludovica Timperi l.timperi90@gmail.com Paola Scocco paola.scocco@unicam.it Elena De Felice elena.defelice@unicam.it Margherita Maranesi margherita.maranesi@unipg.it <p>Leptin (Lep) stimulates keratinocytes to proliferate, intervenes in the wound healing and participates to hair follicle morphogenesis and cycle. While it is secreted by skin structures including epidermis and hair follicles, intradermal adipose tissue also seems to have a role in Lep secretion and accordingly in the control of hair follicle growth in mice and humans. Lep was investigated in the skin of humans and laboratory animals but there are not data regarding bovine species. The aim of this work was to study the expression of Lep and its receptor (LepR) in the skin of bovine and, at the same time, to investigate the presence and extension of intradermal adipose tissue. A morphological evaluation of the skin was performed while the presence and localization of Lep and LepR were analyzed by RT-PCR and immunohistochemistry. A high and thick dermis without adipocytes was observed. Hair follicles and sebaceous and sweat glands were located in the proximal part of the skin while a thick layer of connective tissue, lacking adipose cells, separated these structures by subcutis. RT-PCR evidenced the transcripts for both molecules. By immunohistochemistry, Lep and LepR were observed in the epidermis and hair follicles. Based on the absence of intradermal adipose tissue and the presence of both Lep and LepR in the epidermis and in the hair follicle epithelium, it can be posited that in bovine skin Lep participates to the control of epidermis growth and hair follicle cycle through a paracrine and autocrine mechanisms.</p> 2019-01-17T11:01:22+01:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement## https://www.ejh.it/index.php/ejh/article/view/3013 Cell Migration - Methods and Protocols 2019-01-21T16:46:51+01:00 Manuela Monti M.Monti@smatteo.pv.it <p>As the title suggests, this book presents several techniques to study cells migration in vivo, in vitro, ex vivo and with different model systems to dissect many of the biochemical and biophysical properties (at both molecular and cellular levels) involved in the dynamics of migration and cell-to-cell communication...</p> 2019-01-17T11:03:09+01:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement## https://www.ejh.it/index.php/ejh/article/view/3014 Sertoli Cells - Methods and Protocols 2019-01-21T16:46:49+01:00 CarloAlberto Redi carloalberto.redi@unipv.it <p>The mammalian somatic cell providing the physiological milieu to germ cells growth and differentiation is the Sertoli cell, named after the Italian physiologist Enrico Sertoli. Sertoli described for the first time this functionally multitasking cell in 1865 (when he was 23 years-old!) in human testicular tissues while ending up his medicine studies at the University of Pavia...</p> 2019-01-17T11:04:07+01:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement##