https://www.ejh.it/index.php/ejh/issue/feed European Journal of Histochemistry 2019-05-22T17:37:25+02:00 Nadia Moscato nadia.moscato@pagepress.org Open Journal Systems <p>The <strong>European Journal of Histochemistry&nbsp;</strong>has been an influential cytology journal for over 60 years, publishing research articles on functional cytology and histology in animals and plants. The&nbsp;<strong>European Journal of Histochemistry&nbsp;</strong>offers original research articles investigating on structural and molecular components performed by histochemical and immunohistochemical methods, at light and electron microscopy, cytometry and imaging techniques.</p> <p>Areas of particular interest include cell differentiation, senescence and death, and cell-cell interactions in normal and pathological tissues; attention is also given to articles on newly developed or originally applied histochemical and microscopical techniques.</p> <p>Since its foundation in 1954,&nbsp;the <strong>European Journal of Histochemistry&nbsp;</strong>is the official organ of the Italian Society of Histochemistry.</p> https://www.ejh.it/index.php/ejh/article/view/3008 miR-132 regulates the expression of synaptic proteins in APP/PS1 transgenic mice through C1q 2019-05-22T17:37:25+02:00 Nan Xu 76722172@qq.com Ang-Di Li tonglei@cmu.edu.cn Li-Li Ji tonglei@cmu.edu.cn Yao Ye tonglei@cmu.edu.cn Zhen-Yu Wang tonglei@cmu.edu.cn Lei Tong tonglei@cmu.edu.cn <p>Cognitive impairment in Alzheimer’s disease (AD) is usually accompanied by synaptic loss in both the hippocampus and neocortex. In the early stage of AD, amyloid β-induced synapse changes is the main reason, while in the later stage, the accumulation of Tau protein promotes synapse degeneration as the key factor leading to dementia. MicroRNA (miRNA) is closely related to the expression changes of many AD-related genes. One of the most abundant brain-enriched miRNAs is miR-132, which has been shown to regulate both neuron morphogenesis and plasticity. It has been reported that miR-132 is significantly reduced in the brains of Alzheimer’s patients. Genetic deletion of miR-132 in mice promotes Aβ deposition, leading to impaired memory and enhanced Tau pathology, but how the miRNA-mediated gene expression dysregulation contributes to AD pathology remains unclear. Here we found the possible downstream target of miR-132 by <em>in silico</em> analysis, namely C1q. C1q is the primary protein of classical complement cascade, which is highly expressed in the synaptic regions of the central nervous system in Alzheimer’s patients. However, it is not clear whether miR-132 plays a role in AD through regulating C1q. To address this question, the APP/PS1 transgenic mice were transfected with miR-132 and given C1 inhibitors. Behavior tests were conducted to assess memory and cognitive abilities seven days after administration. In addition, we analyzed the expression of PSD95, Synapsin-1 and phosphorylated (p)-Synapsin. We found that the expression levels of the synaptic proteins treated with miR-132 or C1INH were significantly increased compared with the AD group. Further RT-qPCR result suggested that miR-132 might regulate C1q expression in AD.</p> 2019-05-03T00:00:00+02:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement## https://www.ejh.it/index.php/ejh/article/view/3022 Peribiliary gland damage due to liver transplantation involves peribiliary vascular plexus and vascular endothelial growth factor 2019-05-22T17:37:24+02:00 Antonio Franchitto antonio.franchitto@uniroma1.it Diletta Overi diletta.overi@uniroma1.it Romina Mancinelli romina.mancinelli@uniroma1.it Anna Paola Mitterhofer annapaola.mitter@uniroma1.it Paolo Muiesan paolo.muiesan@uhb.nhs.uk Francesca Tinti francesca.tinti@uniroma1.it Ilaria Umbro ilaria.umbro@uniroma1.it Stefan G. Hubscher s.g.hubscher@bham.ac.uk Paolo Onori paolo.onori@uniroma1.it Eugenio Gaudio eugenio.gaudio@uniroma1.it Guido Carpino guido.carpino@uniroma1.it <p>Extrahepatic bile ducts are characterized by the presence of peribiliary glands (PBGs), which represent stem cell niches implicated in biliary regeneration. Orthotopic liver transplantation may be complicated by non-anastomotic strictures (NAS) of the bile ducts, which have been associated with ischemic injury of PBGs and occur more frequently in livers obtained from donors after circulatory death than in those from brain-dead donors. The aims of the present study were to investigate the PBG phenotype in bile ducts after transplantation, the integrity of the peribiliary vascular plexus (PVP) around PBGs, and the expression of vascular endothelial growth factor-A (VEGF-A) by PBGs. Transplanted ducts obtained from patients who underwent liver transplantation were studied (N=62). Controls included explanted bile duct samples not used for transplantation (N=10) with normal histology. Samples were processed for histology, immunohistochemistry and immunofluorescence. Surface epithelium is severely injured in transplanted ducts; PBGs are diffusely damaged, particularly in ducts obtained from circulatory-dead compared to brain-dead donors. PVP is reduced in transplanted compared to controls. PBGs in transplanted ducts contain more numerous progenitor and proliferating cells compared to controls, show higher positivity for VEGF-A compared to controls, and express VEGF receptor-2. In conclusion, PBGs and associated PVP are damaged in transplanted extrahepatic bile ducts; however, an activation of the PBG niche takes place and is characterized by proliferation and VEGF-A expression. This response could have a relevant role in reconstituting biliary epithelium and vascular plexus and could be implicated in the genesis of non-anastomotic strictures.</p> 2019-05-10T13:58:16+02:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement## https://www.ejh.it/index.php/ejh/article/view/3028 A method for semi-automated image analysis of HLA class I tumour epithelium expression in rectal cancer 2019-05-22T17:37:22+02:00 Daniëlle Krijgsman d.krijgsman@lumc.nl Ronald L.P. van Vlierberghe R.L.P.van_Vlierberghe@lumc.nl Vaios Evangelou vaiosevangelou@gmail.com Alexander L. Vahrmeijer A.L.Vahrmeijer@lumc.nl Cornelis J.H. van de Velde C.J.H.van_de_Velde@lumc.nl Cornelis F.M. Sier C.F.M.Sier@lumc.nl Peter J.K. Kuppen P.J.K.Kuppen@lumc.nl <p>Biomarkers may hold the key towards development and improvement of personalized cancer treatment. For instance, tumour expression of immune system-related proteins may reveal the tumour immune status and, accordingly, determine choice for type of immunotherapy. Therefore, objective evaluation of tumour biomarker expression is needed but often challenging. For instance, human leukocyte antigen (HLA) class I tumour epithelium expression is cumbersome to quantify by eye due to its presence on both tumour epithelial cells and tumour stromal cells, as well as tumour-infiltrating immune cells. In this study, we solved this problem by setting up an immunohistochemical (IHC) double staining using a tissue microarray (TMA) of rectal tumours wherein HLA class I expression was coloured with a blue chromogen, whereas non-epithelial tissue was visualized with a brown chromogen. We subsequently developed a semi-automated image analysis method that identified tumour epithelium as well as the percentage of HLA class I-positive tumour epithelium. Using this technique, we compared HCA2/HC10 and EMR8-5 antibodies for the assessment of HLA class I tumour expression and concluded that EMR8-5 is the superior antibody for this purpose. This IHC double staining can in principle be used for scoring of any biomarker expressed by tumour epithelium.</p> 2019-05-20T16:00:06+02:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement## https://www.ejh.it/index.php/ejh/article/view/3020 Immunohistochemical identification of resistin in the uterus of ewes subjected to different diets: Preliminary results 2019-05-22T17:37:25+02:00 Cecilia Dall'Aglio cecilia.dallaglio@unipg.it Paola Scocco paola.scocco@unicam.it Margherita Maranesi margherita.maranesi@unipg.it Linda Petrucci margherita.maranesi@unipg.it Gabriele Acuti gabriele.acuti@unipg.it Elena De Felice margherita.maranesi@unipg.it Francesca Mercati francesca.mercati@unipg.it <p>Resistin is a polypeptide hormone of the adipokine-family, primarily, but not exclusively, produced by the adipose tissue. Recent studies suggested that resistin may affect the male and female reproductive activity. The study aim was to immunohistochemically evaluate the presence and distribution of resistin in the ovine uterus. Uterine samples were collected from two groups of ewes at the end of an experimental trial during which the animals of the first group (CTRL) were fed only by grazing while those of the second one (EXP) were supplemented with barley and corn. Using a monoclonal antibody against resistin, tested by Western Blot, the immunopositive reaction was identified in the cytoplasm of epithelial lining cells and uterine glands. The endogenous production of resistin seemed to be affected by different diet, as evidenced by staining differences between the CTRL and EXP groups. Our findings support the existence of a peripheral resistin system in the sheep uterus. It is possible that this system is involved in the functionality of the uterus, which is also affected by the animal’s nutritional status.&nbsp;</p> 2019-05-03T15:25:10+02:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement##