https://www.ejh.it/index.php/ejh/issue/feed European Journal of Histochemistry 2018-11-19T16:02:21+01:00 Nadia Moscato nadia.moscato@pagepress.org Open Journal Systems <h3>The Proceedings of the <a href="https://www.ejh.it/index.php/ejh/issue/view/175"><strong>Italian Society for the Study of Connective Tissues (SISC) Meeting, Pavia, 26-27 October 2018</strong></a> are now available.</h3> https://www.ejh.it/index.php/ejh/article/view/2972 Cytoplasmic lattices are not linked to mouse 2-cell embryos developmental arrest 2018-11-19T16:02:21+01:00 Marianna Longo m.longo@dundee.ac.uk Michele Boiani mboiani@mpi-muenster.mpg.de CarloAlberto Redi carloalberto.redi@unipv.it Manuela Monti m.monti@smatteo.pv.it <p>Cytoplasmic lattices are important regulators of oocyte maturation. They store components of the protein synthesis machinery including ribosomes and, among others, they are involved in the regulation of microtubule dynamics in both mouse and human. Cytoplasmic lattices undergo dramatic reorganizations at crucial stages of oocyte maturation, where they are abundantly present in the cytoplasm of developmentally competent oocytes named SN (Surrounded Nucleolus) while they are rare in the cytoplasm of 2-cell stage-arresting NSN (Not Surrounded Nucleolus) oocytes, suggestive of a requirement of cytoplasmic lattices for development past the 2-cell stage. Here, to elucidate this requirement, 2-cell mouse embryos derived from SN and NSN oocytes were analyzed by transmission electron microscopy. Contrary to what had been proposed hitherto, cytoplasmic lattices are present in 2-cell embryos derived not only from SN, but also from NSN oocytes, irrespective of the embryo production system (intra cytoplasmic sperm injection, parthenogenesis). Hence our conclusion that cytoplasmic lattices do not count among the factor(s) responsible for the embryo arrest at this crucial stage of development.</p> 2018-09-24T00:00:00+02:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement## https://www.ejh.it/index.php/ejh/article/view/2900 Regenerative potential of the Bichat fat pad determined by the quantification of multilineage differentiating stress enduring cells 2018-11-19T16:02:19+01:00 Giamaica Conti giamaica.conti@univr.it Dario Bertossi dario.bertossi@univr.it Elena Dai Prè elena.daipre@univr.it Chiara Cavallini chiara.cavallini@univr.it Maria Teresa Scupoli mariateresa.scupoli@univr.it Giulia Ricciardi giulia.ricciardi@hotmail.com Pierpaolo Parnigotto pierpaolo.parnigotto@unipd.it Yves Saban yves.saban@gmail.com Andrea Sbarbati andrea.sbarbati@univr.it Pierfrancesco Nocini pierfrancesco.nocini@univr.it <p>Published studies regarding Bichat fat pad focused, quite exclusively, on the implant of this adipose depot for different facial portions reconstruction. The regenerative components of Bichat fat pad were poorly investigated. The present study aimed to describe by an ultrastructural approach the Bichat fat pad, providing novel data at the ultrastructural and cellular level. This data sets improve the knowledge about the usefulness of the Bichat fat pad in regenerative and reconstructive surgery. Bichat fat pads were harvested form eight patients subjected to maxillofacial, dental and aesthetic surgeries. Biopsies were used for the isolation of mesenchymal cell compartment and for ultrastructural analysis. Respectively, Bichat fat pads were either digested and placed in culture for the characterization of mesenchymal stem cells (MSCs) or, were fixed in glutaraldehyde 2% and processed for transmission or scanning electron microscopy. Collected data showed very interesting features regarding the cellular composition of the Bichat fat pad and, in particular, experiments aimed to characterized the MSCs showed the presence of a sub-population of MSCs characterized by the expression of specific markers that allow to classify them as multilineage differentiating stress enduring cells. &nbsp;This data set allows to collect novel information about regenerative potential of Bichat fat pad that could explain the success of its employment in reconstructive and regenerative medicine.</p> 2018-10-23T12:12:42+02:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement## https://www.ejh.it/index.php/ejh/article/view/2985 Overexpression of kynurenic acid and 3-hydroxyanthranilic acid after rat traumatic brain injury 2018-11-19T16:02:16+01:00 Arturo Mangas mangasam@usal.es Margarita Heredia mheredia@usal.es Adelaida Riolobos asriolob@usal.es Antonio de la Fuente jfuente@usal.es José María Criado jmcriado@usal.es Javier Yajeya yajeya@usal.es Michel Geffard mg.idrpht@orange.fr Rafael Coveñas covenas@usal.es <p>Using an immunohistochemical technique, we have studied the distribution of kynuneric acid (KYNA) and 3-hydroxyanthranilic acid (3-HAA) in a rat brain injury model (trauma). The study was carried out inducing a cerebral ablation of the frontal motor cortex. Two mouse monoclonal specific antibodies previously developed by our group directed against KYNA and 3-HAA were used. In control animals (sham-operated), the expression of both KYNA and 3-HAA was not observed. In animals in which the ablation was performed, the highest number of immunoreactive cells containing KYNA or 3-HAA was observed in the region surrounding the lesion and the number of these cells decreased moving away from the lesion. KYNA and 3-HAA were also observed in the white matter (ipsilateral side) located close to the injured region and in some cells placed in the white matter of the contralateral side. The distribution of KYNA and 3-HAA perfectly matched with the peripheral injured regions. The results found were identical independently of the perfusion date of animals (17, 30 or 54 days after brain injury). For the first time, the presence of KYNA and 3-HAA has been described in a rat trauma model. Moreover, by using a double immunocytochemistry protocol, it has been demonstrated that both metabolites were located in astrocytes. The findings observed suggest that, in cerebral trauma, KYNA and 3-HAA are involved in tissue damage and that these compounds could act, respectively, as a neuroprotector and a neurotoxic. This means that, in trauma, a counterbalance occurs and that a regulation of the indoleamine 2,3 dioxygenase (IDO) pathway could be required after a brain injury in order to decrease the deleterious effects of ending metabolites (the neurotoxic picolinic acid). Moreover, the localization of KYNA and 3-HAA in the contralateral side of the lesion suggests that the IDO pathway is also involved in the sprouting and pathfinding that follows a traumatic brain injury.</p> 2018-11-14T11:42:42+01:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement## https://www.ejh.it/index.php/ejh/article/view/2990 Ultrastructural histochemistry in biomedical research: Alive and kicking 2018-11-19T16:02:18+01:00 Manuela Malatesta manuela.malatesta@univr.it <p>The high-resolution images provided by the electron microscopy has constituted a limitless source of information in any research field of life and materials science since the early Thirties of the last century. Browsing the scientific literature, electron microscopy was especially popular from the 1970’s to 80’s, whereas during the 90’s, with the advent of innovative molecular techniques, electron microscopy seemed to be downgraded to a subordinate role, as a merely descriptive technique. Ultrastructural histochemistry was crucial to promote the <em>Renaissance</em> of electron microscopy, when it became evident that a precise localization of molecules in the biological environment was necessary to fully understand their functional role. Nowadays, electron microscopy is still irreplaceable for ultrastructural morphology in basic and applied biomedical research, while the application of correlative light and electron microscopy and of refined ultrastructural histochemical techniques gives electron microscopy a central role in functional cell and tissue biology, as a really unique tool for high-resolution molecular biology <em>in situ.</em></p> 2018-11-07T11:22:20+01:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement## https://www.ejh.it/index.php/ejh/article/view/2982 Mouse oocyte development - Methods and Protocols 2018-11-19T16:02:20+01:00 Manuela Monti M.Monti@smatteo.pv.it <p class="Default"><span lang="EN-US">The Springer Protocols series “Methods in Molecular Biology” has published its 1818<sup>th&nbsp;</sup>volume&nbsp;</span><span lang="EN-US">which is entirely devoted to the development of the female gamete: the oocyte. </span></p> <p>&nbsp;</p> 2018-09-26T00:00:00+02:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement##